The Educational Research Award is awarded for outstanding achievement in educational research that improved children's learning and understanding.

2013: John Falk, Oregon State University

2011: Carl Wieman, Office of Science and Technology Policy

2008: Linda Darling-Hammond, GSE, Stanford University
         Robert Tai, University of Virginia

2005: Robert Slavin, Johns Hopkins University

2003: David Hestenes, Arizona State University

2002: Siegfried Engelmann, National Institute for Direct Instruction

2001: Explloratorium, San Francisco
         Sheila Tobias, Research Fellow, University of Arizona, and Author

2000: Lillian C. McDermott, University of Washington

1999: Eric Mazur, Harvard University

1998: Marcia C. Linn, University of California at Berkeley
         Joseph D. Novak, Cornell University