Each year, CSSP confers its award for Support of Science to honor an individual who merits recognition for outstanding and dedicated support of US science, free scientific communication, and support of basic research.


2010: The Gordon Research Conferences

2009: Paula Dobriansky, Undersecretary (ret), State Department

2008: Craig Barrett, Chairman, Intel Corporation

2007: Arden Bement, Director, National Science Foundation

2006: Norman Borlaug, CIMMYT

2005: Sherwood Boehlert, Chair, House Science Committee

2004: Don Kennedy, Editor-in-Chief, Science

2003: Christopher "Kit" Bond, Chair, Senate Independent Agencies Appropriations Committee

2002: Martin A. Apple, President, CSSP

2001: Bruce Alberts, President, National Academy of Sciences

2000: Bill Frist, MD, Chair, Senate Science Caucus
         Neal Lane, Director, OSTP, White House

1999: Dudley R. Herschbach, Baird Professor, Harvard

1998: F. Sherwood Rowland, University of California, Irvine

1997: Norman Augustine, CEO, Lockheed-Martin Corporation

1996: Mary L. Good, Undersecretary for Technology, US Dept of Commerce

1995: Philip H. Abelson, Editor-in-Chief (ret), Science

1994: M.R.C. Greenwood, Assoc. Director, OSTP, White House

1993: Maxine Singer, President, Carnegie Foundation

1992: D. Allen Bromley, Director, OSTP, White House

1991: George E. Brown, Chair, House Committee on Science, Space and Technology

1990: Peter H. Raven, Director, Missouri Botanical Garden

1989: C. Everett Koop, US Surgeon General

1988: Roland W. Schmitt, Chair, National Science Board

1987: William Cary, Executive Officer, AAAS

1986: Erich Boch, Director, National Science Foundation

1985: George Keyworth, Science Advisor to the President

1984: Frank Press, President, National Academy of Sciences

1983: Don Fuqua, Chairman, House Committee on Science and Technology